Contact Us
Clarkstown Daily Voice serves Bardonia, Congers, Nanuet, New City, Upper Nyack, Valley Cottage & West Nyack
Return to your home site


Clarkstown Daily Voice serves Bardonia, Congers, Nanuet, New City, Upper Nyack, Valley Cottage & West Nyack

Nearby Towns

  • North Rockland
    serves Garnerville, Grassy Point, Stony Point, Thiells, Tomkins Cove, Village of Haverstraw & West Haverstraw in Haverstraw Town
  • Ramapo
    serves Airmont, Chestnut Ridge, Hillburn, Hillcrest, Kaser, Monsey, Montebello, Mount Ivy, New Hempstead, New Square, Pomona, Sloatsburg, Spring Valley, Suffern, Tallman, Viola & Wesley Hills
  • Orangetown
    serves Blauvelt, Grand View-on-Hudson, Orangeburg, Palisades, Pearl River, Piermont, South Nyack, Sparkill & Tappan
Breaking News: NY Moving Forward With Lawsuit After Trump's About-Face On Child Separation

Historical Society of Rockland To Present Preservation Merit Awards

The Jacob Blauvelt Homestead.
The Jacob Blauvelt Homestead. Photo Credit: Facebook

NEW CITY, N.Y. -- The Historical Society of Rockland County has announced its winners of the 2016 Rockland County Executive's Historic Preservation Merit Awards.

The awards, now in their 26th year, are to be given out during a scheduled Country Supper event on Sunday, May 15 at the historic Jacob Blauvelt Homestead, according to a statement from the group.

The ceremony will coincide with Rockland County Preservation Week and National Historic Preservation Month (May).

Liz McEnaney, who is scheduled to give the evening's keynote address, is executive director of the SS Columbia Project and an adjunct professor at Columbia University's Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation.

The year's winners of the Rockland County Executive's Historic Preservation Merit Awards include:

  • Corinne McGeorge - The Margaret B. and John R. Zehner Award for contributions to the county’s history and for underscoring the value of historic preservation to the community;
  • Friends of Harmony Hall - Preservation Leadership Award for individuals, groups, and government agencies that display outstanding leadership or continuing contribution to the preservation of historic resources in Rockland County;
  • The John Green Preservation Coalition - Preservation Leadership Award;
  • Richard Sena - Adaptive Use Award for 151 Broadway, Haverstraw;
  • And the Tappan Library - Adaptive Use Award for the Borcher Stable/Tappan Library, Main Street, Tappan.
The Rockland County Executive’s Historic Preservation Merit Awards Program began in 1991 and has since presented more than 75 awards to public agencies, private individuals, community-based and religious organizations in recognition of their preservation efforts in the county.

For more information on the award process, or to find out how to attend the Country Supper, visit or contact the Historical Society of Rockland County at 845-634-9629. The group can also be reached via email at

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Clarkstown Daily Voice!

Serves Bardonia, Congers, Nanuet, New City, Upper Nyack, Valley Cottage & West Nyack

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.